Need Help in Learning how to catch the big catfish

Discussion in 'SOUTH CAROLINA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by dolittle9, Jan 22, 2010.

1. dolittle9

dolittle9 Well-Known Member

State:
    Lake Wylie, SC
    Hello Everyone

I have been reading alot of you guy's post and have wrote down alot of your suggeston. I'm new to catfishing scene. I've been a recreatinal fisherman all my life when I got a chance to go and now I'm retired so I plan on going a whole lot more. I have use mostly earth worms and at the beach blood worms and shrimp and I have caught some fish but nothing like what you guys have pictures of I mean the biggest fish I ever caught was a 8.0 lb channelcat and it was in Fla. I guess what I'm asking is do I need to re-think my way of Fishing and start from scratch. I hope to meet some of you guy's on my Home lake Wylie maybe even hook up and go with You all to watch how you do it. The equipment I need to get started. I know you have to pay your dues and chalk up your mistakes as a learning expericence I know I have a lot to learn The help I need is this or any suggestion would help

1) Where or how do you find Gizzard Shad or the cut bait you all talk about?

2) What is drifting?

3) Does that catfish stuff that is advertized (that really stinks) reallly work?

4) What am I looking for on the Fishfinder? ( just got a Boat )

5) Where do you find the cats or Where to look for them? ( I guess that is the 64 Million Dollar Question)

Thanks

Bob "Dolittle"

2. skiff1

skiff1 New Member

State:
    south caro
    with them types of questions you might wanna set a day aside an fish with a guide like roundhill or someone they will be able to show you in person its alot to learn at one time once you get the basics tho you can take it from there don't be afraid to try new things

3. macdaddy

macdaddy New Member

State:
    GEORGIA