need help drifting

Discussion in 'SOUTH CAROLINA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by nanny patrol, May 31, 2008.

1. nanny patrol

nanny patrol Member

State:
    SC
    Im pretty new to catfishing and need some help. Its obvious from reading old threads that I need to learn to drift. Ive searched threads and been to the library and I think I have basic concept down but Im still a little confused on the rigging. I understand the float concept and choosing the amount of weight to use. What Im not sure on is whats best, 3 way rig or carolina rig? Also leader length? I know this may all be personal preferance but thats why Im asking. I'd appreciate any advise!! Oh yeah, my home lake is Hartwell so any local advise would be very, very welcomed. Thanks a lot, Mike.

2. flatheadhunterx

flatheadhunterx Active Member

State:
    South Carolina
    mike I prefer a carolina rig with a 2 to 4 ft leader.

3. mudflat08

mudflat08 New Member

State:
    south carolina
    I prefer a carolina rig to, with a leader about 3 to 4 ft long and i put the float about 6 inches above my hook, good luck

4. martygreen

martygreen Well-Known Member Supporting Member

State:
    Rock Hill,S.C.
    Carolina Rig,Slinky weight,snap swivel with a 3' Leader,2in float up 8-10in from hook.I usually will use 6/0 Hooks.

5. bearfrog1

bearfrog1 New Member

State:
    Mount Pleasant,
    I use Martygreen's method. Just be sure to go get 2 driftsocks (sea-anchors). This will help your boat track straight. It takes some adjusting but usually 1 sock is up front and one is about 2/3rds back. Try to balance your boat's weight too. That is tough for me as my motor weighs alot. My socks usually are 1 at front left and 1 is just past middle left. Fish all your rods off the left side. I have a 25 ft pontoon with 115honda 4 stroke just for reference. My socks are 5ft diameter too each.
    Hope this helps,
    Jonathan

6. JimmyJonny

JimmyJonny Well-Known Member

State:
    sc