Catfish Angler Forum at USCA banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,335 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My wife has just decided that she would like to start fishing with me alot more. I do not know what kind of combo to get her since i have been using baitcasters since i was 8 yrs old.
My wife has fished with smaller spinning combos and is OK with them.
What kind of rod/reel combo should i be looking for her?
I do not want to drop a huge amount of money since i do not know how dedicated her desire to fish is.

·
Registered
1,424 Posts
What type of cats will you be after. I had the same dillema last year with my nephew wanting to go fishing. We went to Wal-Mart and bought a $20 Berkley Big Game rod. I gave him one of my older Shimano Spinners and he out of his own pocket bought some fishing line....The reel was a cheap Shimano FX 4000 about $20 bucks( i like the older ones).... Should be enough to handle just about any Channel Cat and some smaller flats possibly....

·
Registered
1,050 Posts
My wife just got her a Zebco hawg seeker and loves it. $39.99 at Walmart.
But play around with the bite alert to get it to work right, or just leave turned off.:big_smile:

·
Registered
1,335 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
we will be targeting larger blues for the rest of the tournaments this year.
probably fish between 10 and 20lbs.
I was thinking of the Shimano spinning reel on a berkly rod. A larger reel that will hold 150yrd+ of 14lb line. And looking for a MH or H berkly rod that is 6'6 or 7'
Like i said, i am not into the larger spinning reels and have never used them but the smaller shimanos have always been good to me.

·
Registered
1,424 Posts
we will be targeting larger blues for the rest of the tournaments this year.
probably fish between 10 and 20lbs.
I was thinking of the Shimano spinning reel on a berkly rod. A larger reel that will hold 150yrd+ of 14lb line. And looking for a MH or H berkly rod that is 6'6 or 7'