Need a new bait?

Discussion in 'Catfishing Baits' started by CJ21, Dec 9, 2006.

1. CJ21

CJ21 New Member

State:
    Montgomery, Alabama
    So far I have been minnows and livers, because I cant find no shad. but I wondering is bream a good bait to try? but have not been coming empty handed on the minnows, so I dont know if they is eating them or not.

2. rangercatman

rangercatman Member

State:
    Cameron, NC
    try using eels, buy an eel trap (30$) and experiment on using the trap. (im still learning but finally im catching eels) the cats go crazy on em , I just nailed A 20LB channel on cut eel.

Attached Files:

3. neocats

neocats New Member

State:
    Steubenvil
    First of all, as far as fish goes, try to use what is in the waters where you fish. Bluegill are usually everywhere. So are shad, but you have to net them. I don't know of anyone who catches shad with a hook and line. And it also depends on what your target fish is in regards to how you fish your bait. I can't offer and advice on blues other than what I have heard on BOC, so I won't. However, with channels, I have done really well on both bluegill and shad cut bait. The gut pocket seams to work the best, but don't forget about the heads. I seem to catch some bigger ones using heads, but the bite is usually slower in coming.

4. Indigo Flats

Indigo Flats New Member

State:
    Lancaster,
    Where do you find eel traps?

5. gadzooks

gadzooks New Member

State:
    Kingwood, Tx (Houston)
    Gills are great for all types of catfish. If you can get them, use the live, use the heads, and use them as cut bait. Mostly, that's what I use because I can catch 50 or more in my little 3.5" cast net where I launch. The've done well for me. Besides shad, liver, and gills, there's shrimp. It can be productive. Of course, there are hundreds of other baits, but those are what I mostly use. Strangely, I've never caught a catfish on night crawlers.

6. CJ21

CJ21 New Member

State:
    Montgomery, Alabama