Need a little advice on Missouri river catfishing

Discussion in 'MISSOURI RIVERS TALK' started by new kat, Jun 23, 2006.

1. new kat

new kat New Member

State:
    La Plata Missouri
    I am kinda new to this catfishing thing. i caught some as a kid but never went serious until recently. Did manage to get the wife into it tho and its something we can do together that we both enjoy. However, all we seem to catch in the local lakes and such are little ones. I would like to get into the fish that you guys are talking about out of the missouri river but don't know how to get started. I have a couple of big cat rods and reels spooled with 20lb line but really don't know what to do with them. Any help? I am pretty confident we would be content with a couple of stringers of 5-10lb fish. I do have a 16ft. jon boat with a little trolling motor but no outboard but m looking for one. Thanks in advance for the help I am sure I will get.

2. jdstraka

jdstraka Well-Known Member Supporting Member

State:
    Council Bluffs, Iowa
    Name:
    John
    Hi rob and welcome to the best catfising site on the web. There are some big fish in the Missouri just waiting for you and your Bride.First I would recomend you useLive bait shad, bluegills,chubs or cutbait of the same. larger cats (channels,flats,and blues) prefer live bait or fresh cut bait.If your fishing from the bank I would try and find some structure log jams, wing dikes. Or channel breaks or deep holes in the daytime. Structure is important so try to find it if possible and place your bait by it. also when you get a motor it will open up alot of different options. I wouldent put the flat bottom on the big mo. with just a trolling motor though as I feel you would be asking for trouble it (the river) just runs to swift. but you might also try driftfishing on some lakes It works great, Just let the wind move you and you can cover alot of area. Hope this helps. Bigcatman0816.:big_smile:

3. Ol Man

Ol Man New Member

State: