My old new boat

Discussion in 'Boat Modification Journal' started by CraigO, Dec 18, 2008.

1. CraigO

CraigO New Member

State:
    Tolar, TX
    Got my first boat today, a 16' aluminum. It's an '82 boat with an '88 60hp Johnson. It was a project boat for somebody else and I bought it incomplete. All the carpet, storage areas, floors, and trailer are done and look great. But the boat is really bare. It's got a trolling motor (wireless) and a fishfinder. The fellow before me had purchased bow and stern lights for it and a bilge pump but hasn't installed them. I also want to add a few other elecronic items... problem is I am clueless on this kind of stuff so I'm asking for yalls input (by the way, don't laugh at my ridiculous questions. I'm new at this and I want to get it right). :big_smile: The boat has new 12 volt and 24 volt batteries. My first question is can I wire my bow/stern lights to either battery or will I fry something if I wire them to the 24? I don't know what kinds of things need to wired to which battery. Eventually I want to have a couple of anchors and a plug for a spotlight. I have a little money and time to work on the boat so I will update as I go. Thanks in advance for any help.advice.

2. boost3782

boost3782 New Member

State:
    USA
    First of all welcome to the BoC. Now onto your questions. For your nav lights wire to the 12v batt only. If you wire them to something past 12V they will smoke. I suggest getting a panel from bass pro or even just a decent switch from the auto parts store/radio shack and wire them to that with a fuse. Very easy to do.

As for the 12V plug for a spot light that is also easy. You can buy the plug as Bass Pro for around 5-10 bucks and it wires to a 12V source like your nav lights. You can also put that on a master switch setup for when your out using the boat. Make sure to use an Inline fuse about 12 inchs or less off the batt. connection.

Good Luck

3. catfish_clayton

catfish_clayton New Member

State: