My first year and two so far

Discussion in 'Deer Hunting' started by JERMSQUIRM, Dec 19, 2006.

1. JERMSQUIRM

JERMSQUIRM New Member

State:
    il-waynesv
    ok, its my first year hunting the whitetail. after spending last winter learning to mount deer, (taxidermy) and watching countless hunting vidieos, going to the deer and turkey classic and learning from a seminar and video how to clean an entire deer with a fillet knife. i took to the woods this season.

it all started with the purchase of a cva .45 cal muzzle loader for $49.00 on clearence at wal mart at last seasons end. i sent off for illinois firearm and muzzleloader tags.

this opening season i decided to also get archery and bow hunt too. i have ate deer for years from my grandfather hunting and my family giving me extra meat. most don't like it (cuz they dont know how to prepare it and think it cant be eaten rare) i love it. so i took to the woods with my grand fathers old bear whitetail two bow. seen nothing after several times out and was getting discouraged.

opening day of firearm i set out with the fuzzy muzzie. at only one hour after day break i heard shots ring out just up the fence row from a blind i had seen a few days earlier. i have a stand set up just behing the towns sewer mound where my grand father told me to hunt. he works as the towns maintence man. there are numerous tracks and rubs in the thicket. and at just before 7 am after the shots here came two deer bounding down the fence row coming toward me. they stopped just about 60 yards from my stand and crossed the fence and ran right at me. there is a run right below my stand. they stopped in the field just 30 yards for me. i drew up my 12 guage rem 1100 loaded with slugs. aimed at the doe in the lead. she was the largest. i hesatated and she went behingd some trees and i took aim at the smaller. i didn't take the shot. it to bounded off.:eek:oooh: