My first trip in my "new" boat

Discussion in 'Boating Stories' started by wpsatisfide, Feb 6, 2006.

1. wpsatisfide

wpsatisfide New Member

State:
    Pawleys Island, SC
    This last october I bought my first boat, a lil 1990 15ft center console. Now i have done most of my fishing from the bank, although ive used my friends uncles pontoon a lil. Still im new to boats and all the work that they need.

My first time out I decided to drive the extra hour to put in at the lake as opposed to the river. This was about the only smart move i made. Before leaving the house I checked to make sure motor would crank, which it did. I arrive at the lake and friend backs boat into the water. Im sitting in the boat and realize "oh crap i forgot to put the plug in :crying: ". I start yelling for my friend to pull boat out.

I put the plug in and we try again. Good now im in water and tied up to dock. We load bait, cooler, rods etc. into boat and my friend shoves off. Waaah Waah Wah. Uh oh must be a loose connection on battery because boat had just cranked. Wiggle myself into the transom, unscrew connections and screw them back. Well that didnt help. Guess we better paddle to shore. Where is my paddle:confused: Darn I left my brand new paddle in the hatch of the explorer along with my cell phone. Were now about 60 feet from shore and its not the warmest day of november and swiming to shore looks like a cold cold choice. My bud and I decide to try and hook a dock and pull the boat back to shore.

Ok were now back to shore and tied off again. At this point I have learned 3 very important things.
    1) charge the battery
    2) plug the boat before backing it in. I know keep my key attached to plug so I dont forget.
    3) check and recheck to make sure you have paddles, jackets, cell phone, etc