My Fat Self

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by Katmandeux, Dec 15, 2007.

1. Katmandeux

Katmandeux New Member

State:
    Checotah, Oklahoma
    I got the bad news last week...my cholesterol and triglycerides are too high. The doc gave me a script for Lipitor, but the more I read, the more I'm inclined to try diet/exercise first.

I'm new at this, and trying to get a handle on it, soooooooo......

For those of you in the same boat, care to share? What works, and what doesn't? Successes? Failures?

2. dafin

dafin New Member

State:
    Manhattan,Kan
    If you start on Lipitor watch for weakness or pain in the legs or arms ,if you have any tell your Dr . I can't take Lipitor . I take a small dose of crestor .

3. catfish kenny

catfish kenny New Member

State:
    Iowa
    Hey my uncle is 73 and youd think he is 50.....I am gonna ask him his take cause he has alot of the same issues.I know he cut alot of foods out he loves like bacon and greasy burgers,he uses a forman grill alot and I tell you the ole man is quite the charachter.I help him split wood and he about works circles round me.He give up Paint balling two years ago cause he was afraid he'break something and yes he kicked my butt at that to but the onrey ole cuss is a mentor of mine and I think the world of him.
    I dont know what kind of medications he takes but I know he watches what he eats and does excersise by walking a couple miles 3-4 times a week so.....Good luck and I hope this helps.

4. Pennsylvaniacatchaser

Pennsylvaniacatchaser Well-Known Member

State:
    Sarver, Pa
    My wife takes lipitor and it keeps her cholesterol number where the doctor wants it to be. I try to keep my weight down by running several days a week. I take my black lab with me and we both benefit from the excercise!

5. Pacman

Pacman New Member

State:
    South Carolina
    I think the best advice is "If it taste good, spit it out".