MY CIRCLE HOOK REVIEW

Discussion in 'Terminal Tackle Review' started by Jeremy Sheffey, Oct 14, 2009.

1. Jeremy Sheffey

Jeremy Sheffey New Member

State:
    Columbus, Ohio
    I am new to using circle hooks, and i will keep using them for most situations from now on. I bought a few packs of circle hooks, all gamagatzu, i bought some of the Octo Inline Circles and the Octo Circle hooks. the Octo Circles have an offset point to shaft where as the Octo inline hooks have an inline point in correlation to the shaft. After taking both kinds of hooks out I have decided that circle hooks for a majority of my applications are going to be the way to go. However i will not be using the inline circle hooks. i found that my hook up rate was close to double if not more with the offset point. i very much excepted this from my knowledge and findings with J hooks. the offset point allowed me much better hook ups with the J hooks also. However i am still getting used to circle hooks and some of the does and don'ts that go along with them. I feel that when i master them, i will have a much higher hook up rate than with J hooks. the only problem i ran into today, that i dont feel will be a regular issue, was that the fish were tending to run toward me making hooking them difficult with the circle hooks. one of my favorite things about the circle hooks are that when a fish takes a short run and i am tight lining, they tend to hook themselves, even when i am only using a bait clicker with the bail open. A lot of times when i am bank or boat fishing, i will have 4+ rods in the water, so when a short strike occurs a lot of times i am to far away/to slow to set the j hook. with the circle hook this is no longer a problem. over all i give the circle hook a 9 on a scale of 1-10.