Mushrooming

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by yotetrapper, Mar 3, 2007.

1. yotetrapper

yotetrapper New Member

State:
    Illinois
    Just wondering if any of you all go mushroom hunting in the spring? It's something I've never done ( I looked a little last spring but didnt find none) but everyone around here seems to do it. Any tips on where to look for morrells?

2. buddah

buddah New Member

State:
    Pennsylvania Wi
    Absolutely! I studied Mycology (study of mushrooms) for a few years but still a lil cautious because of look-a-likes.
    morels & truffles are where the real $ is but I just do it for fun and rarely pick them though.

3. bluehead29

bluehead29 New Member

State:
    indiana
    The best luck i have ever had was down in a small valley, it was used as a cow pasture though so there were land mines to avoid but found a whole mess right along the edge of the stream running through it.:0a26:

4. 223reload

223reload New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    The only ones around here grow out of cowpies and there not edible lol

5. theonecatfishbob

theonecatfishbob New Member

State:
    Wright City, Missouri
    A topic near and dear to my heart. I look forward every year to the picking of mushrooms. I love them. Around here the second week of April till about the end I spend a lot of time on the river bank. some years if it is extra warm i will start the first week of april.Good exercise and good eatin.

6. billcatfish

billcatfish New Member

State:
    evansville Ind
    yes around here i look forward to the spring time every year like getting in the outdoors an doing some musroom hunting around here you can find them about every time out i find mine in olld coal mines in the squal banks an good luck on your hunting this year

7. bank bouncer

bank bouncer New Member

State:
    INDIANA
    With the snow we had it should be a good year, as long as we keep the moisture level high.

8. Hope

Hope New Member

State:
    Oklahoma