Mouth calls? How do you get your Turkey Call to sound right?

Discussion in 'Turkey Hunting' started by Big B, Oct 6, 2007.

1. Big B

Big B New Member

State:
    North Texas
    I am new to turkey hunting and I am stumped. I recently purchased a few mouth calls and can't quite figure out how to get the right sound out of them. They say to put the round end in first and use your tongue to make different sounds. How do I use it properly? I can make some sounds but it sounds like something dying. I can make a better sound putting it in backwards and sucking in. What am I doing wrong? Any help is greatly appreciated.

2. TOPS

TOPS New Member

State:
    Cabot,Arkansas
    When I was able to hunt, I could not use a mouth call! I had to go to a box call.

3. 223reload

223reload New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    I thought the same thing,till I asked a friend to listen . He said it sounded great to him,It's just like listening to your own voice ,tape it and it sounds funny to you ...not like you think it sounds,tape your calling and then listen to it ,it will sound vastly different to you,I use a variety of calls myself diaphrams,slate and box.

4. fishnfwl

fishnfwl New Member

State:
    South Cent
    223 hit it right on, you may also find it works better if you trim them to fit, but basically the old saying practice, when I started I did record myself a few times to hear what I was doing with them, thats all I have used for 6-7 years now, just have some one listen to you that knows or better yet keep one in yer pocket and when ya see some birds, stop and give them a hollar see what they do? How ever I do think people over rate the use on them, I know I ain't award winning with mine but what ever I sound like works thats all I can say, maybe they just think I am an out of towner or something, but they always come into close to see

5. CatFishingFinatic

CatFishingFinatic New Member

State:
    Iowa