Motor bogs when throttled

Discussion in 'Boat Tips' started by catwhisper, Oct 15, 2009.

1. catwhisper

catwhisper New Member

State:
    georgia
    2004 25hp merc runs great at idle and low rpms but half way starts to bog. any help?

2. Catfish_Scooter

Catfish_Scooter New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    My uncles atv does that, now im no mechanic and dont know a darn thing about it but I think something could be blocked in the fuel line or punctured somewhere.

3. Branj796

Branj796 Member

State:
    Illinois
    Something that happened to me years ago was that my choke was getting stuck on. The carberatuer may also be getting stuck. It could also be a fuel restriction. Start simple. It probably is something simple. Let me know when you find out. I am curious

4. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    I'm not a mechanic but would suggest using some sea foam before taring anything down. Sea foam will clean it up like your dinner plate.

5. Koon

Koon New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    sounds like you have a float stuck in your carb.... learn how to do a complete carb disassemble and cleaning in about 20mins. Its not that hard. Recommeded to put a fuel filter inline between your tank and motor to help stop little pieces of junk from getting in your carb and plugging up a jet or causing the float to stick.

If its fuel injected... then I have no clue.

One story I have is every time you started the engine, the throttle was WIDE OPEN.... drove me nuts for about a day. Finally took the carb off to find a dead baby snake wrapped up inside.

Last edited: Oct 15, 2009
  6. katsandsuds

katsandsuds New Member

State:
    North Caro