Catfish Angler Forum at USCA banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all I’m planning on purchasing a kayak in the near~ish future it will be a sit on kayak for sure probably a ascend or a lifetime Yukon.
Here is the question/deal. I currently have monster rod holders I love them best rod holders out there in my opinion. But I don’t see many people running them on kayaks and I’m not sure why. So I’m looking to see if anyone else is using them on their kayak and if not why?
the cons that I’m currently seeing is their somewhat large (could get in the way)
Their somewhat expensive
Their heavy (kayak is very limited on weight)
The pros are their rock solid
Bonus they work as a tie off to brush
Hold my rods like a rock!
I trust them completely
I already own them
What is everyone else’s thoughts on this? I’m a amateur at kayak fishing I’ve just done some research so I’m all ears!

·
Registered
Winston, Indiana
4,624 Posts
I know nothing about kayaks but I do know that a vicious take down from a big blue will rock my 19’ Alumacraft so I assume a similar take down could tip a kayak over unless the drag was set to give line before that happened. With the drag set that way, a rod holder as stout as a Monster would not be necessary.
Cane makes a very good point about the bases. Any holder is only as good as the the strength of the base and any base is only as good as the strength of the fasteners holding the base to the boat or the strength of the boat itself.
But…… if you already have them and some suitable bases and they’re not so big as to be in the way, they certainly will do the job.

…W

·
Registered
3,038 Posts
We started out with 4 kayaks 12 years ago, now 10 and might add another if the price is right.
Don't need heavy sinkers, a 3/8 to 1 oz will hold the bait pretty good. I use 3/8 and 1/2 oz egg sinkers.