Mono or Braid for circle hooks

Discussion in 'Fishing Line Review' started by Jeremy Sheffey, Oct 15, 2009.

1. Jeremy Sheffey

Jeremy Sheffey New Member

State:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Im not sure what section to place this one in, so if it is in the wrong section sorry.

to my question. Which line is more effective in the use of circle hooks and why? what are the advantages/disadvantages of using braid/mono with a circle hook?

2. BenNewt

BenNewt New Member

State:
    Minnesota
    I'm not an expert on circle hooks, but I would think that the extra stretch of mono would work to your advantage with circle hooks.

3. catmanoneufala

catmanoneufala New Member

State:
    seale,alabama
    well i cant say either one.... i use mono..but i also use braid as a leader...but i do know that with circle hooks the braid will sometimes slip out of the eye v.i.a the little gap that between the eye and shank look close to see the gap... i just take a pair of pliars and completly close the small gap

4. brian88b

brian88b Member

State:
    Fairdale, KY
    Thats a wild setup catmanoneufala mono with braid leader:confused2: Most guys I've discussed braid with go total opposite braid with mono leaders because the abrasion resistance of mono is greater than braid. Whats your theory behind the mono with braid leaders ???

5. santeefishhunter

santeefishhunter New Member

State:
    north caro
    I use 50lb. mono as my leader.

Attached Files:

6. countryboy79

countryboy79 New Member

State:
    nc
    I use braid with circle hooks. Braid does not give so when you get a bit useing circle hooks its a solid hit the hook is buried into the fishes mouth.
    Plus braid is very tough its like fishing with a chain.

7. catman_mark

catman_mark New Member

State:
    kentucky