Mo River Fishing need Help

Discussion in 'MISSOURI RIVERS TALK' started by MiseryMike, May 26, 2009.

1. MiseryMike

MiseryMike New Member

State:
    Blue Springs
    Hey everyone i need some help. I Just Started Fishing For Cats in the Mighty Mo <bank fishing>, all i have manage to catch was a little blue cat, All i seem to do is able to get snagged up no matter how far i cast out, Here is a few things i have done, like i said im new to this, im using a 7 foot med/heavy Ready2fish rod <got From Wally world> with a spinner reel with 12lb test which im now out of line. I Started over the weekend usin treble hooks, and some dough bait <--- thats wut i got the lil blue on. i went and bought some 5/0 Circle hooks and some prepackaged little chad. Mainly wut type of rig should i use? Seems to me my rigs are not working, i was use somewut from 1 or 2 oz barrel and 18in metal leader <-- shouldnt use those right ? Some what of a Carolina rig i have not seen that setup with a metal leader like i have said i have no idea wut im doing. I have Read some wut about using a sacrificial 3-way rig Any of you use that in the missorui river is that something i should try..
    Sorry if this is some what confusing when reading
    So heres some of my ?'s for everyone
    1. Since i have to respool my Reel Should i use a super mono 25lb line since my reel will hold that
    2. What Type of Bait should i use with The Circle hooks?5/0 to big or too small? Prepackaged NOT Forzen Chad Ok or not?
    3.What Type of Rig should i use in a current like the Mo without gettin snagged <all the time> ? Also The Weights Barrel,Prymid,no rollers?

Thanks Anyone who can give me some tips, im Fishing to just catch and release btw..
    One Last Things i been doing all this fishing down at Le beniot park might of spelled that wrong, 291 bridge in sugar creek, i live up in Sadstone/Gladstone Anyone know any River Access Closer up my way
    Thanks Again
    MiseryMike:big_smile:

2. Blade4130