Missouri River

Discussion in 'LOCAL MISSOURI TALK' started by RIVER-RAT, Oct 3, 2005.

1. RIVER-RAT

RIVER-RAT New Member

State:
    MO / MT
    Hey everybody, new to the BOC. My name is Bill and I was seeing if anybody had some advice on fishing the Missouri. I fish the stretch from Washington to the Klondike Boat Ramp ( across from the Labadie Power plant) in St. Charles County. I'm a bit new to the sport of catfishing, (grew up in Montana flyfishing), but am totally addicted to the pursuit of big cats. I recently have been catching shad with a throw net and then anchoring below the wing dyke and fishing the deep scour holes with little success. Mostly been catching small cats or nothing at all. I want to catch the biggun's! Any helpful hints, such as time of day, location, bait ect. would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

2. Dave53

Dave53 New Member

State:
    Lonedell M
    Riverrat..I fish the Missouri from Washington up to New Haven.. There is a lot of good fishing area where you are at. There is a couple creeks on the left coming up to Washington that hold good eaters..2 to 5 pounders and I have been told down from Labadie there is an old barge that sank and some big fish have been caught on the back side of the barge.. I was told it is on the same side as the power plant is down river a half mile or so. I only have a 9.9 and it takes me forever to get to the power plant and back from Washington so I dont go there too often. Upstream, towards New Haven is a creek that they have cut off the access to but you can still reach it from the river that holds a lot of shad. Boepf Creek..spelling is most likely off. It is 2 or 3 miles down stream from New Haven.. If I can help anymore just drop me a line.

3. RIVER-RAT

RIVER-RAT New Member

State:
    MO / MT