Missouri River around Washington, MO

Discussion in 'MISSOURI RIVERS TALK' started by mofisher, Jun 21, 2007.

1. mofisher

mofisher Member

State:
    Missouri
    I'm brand new to the BOC and I was curious if anyone ever fishes around Washington Missouri? I bank fish sometimes but I do have access to a boat as well. Does anyone have any recommendations of where to start? I've gotten lucky with a few fish off the ends of wing dikes but when the waters above them I'm kinda unfamiliar with fishing them. Thanks

2. pk_powell

pk_powell New Member

State:
    Missouri
    Welcome to the BOC.I too am from Missouri.Please tell me where is Washington Missouri Located? Also you said you have had luck fishing off of wingdikes.I have no boat so I usually fish off of wing dikes on the Missouri River.Do you throw your bait straight out from the wing or upstream or downstream. I have been having great difficuty catching even fryers. Two years ago I was always able to come home with some fryers using Sonny's Dip bait but last year I couldn't buy a bite and so far this yeat it is the same. I need someone to tell me what I'm doing wrong or if I'm doing anything wrong! I am indeed very puzzled! Looking forward to your response!

Cordially,
    Sister Pat:big_smile:

3. bluejay

bluejay Well-Known Member

State:
    Napoleon, Mo.
    Welcome to the BOC Jason.

4. mofisher

mofisher Member

State:
    Missouri
    Washington is between St. Charles and Herman on the Missouri. I usually cast directly out from the dike and let the current carry my line downstream into where is would drop dead baitfish slightly behind the dike. I've caught a couple in the 10-15 lb range but that was when the water was down. With the water up over the dikes I've had alot of drum and that's about it.

5. Seth

Seth Active Member

State:
    Owensville, MO