Missouri hogs?

Discussion in 'Hog Hunting' started by stillkickn, Dec 4, 2009.

1. stillkickn

stillkickn New Member

State:
    Missouri
    I'm new to Missouri and live 30 minutes North of Jefferson City. I've never hunted hogs but have been wanting to for several years now so I have two questions. How do I get started and is there any public land where I could do any good?

Thanks,
    Kickn

2. BubbaCat

BubbaCat New Member

State:
    Arizona
    have you spoke to your local wildlife department ? to start hog hunting all you need is a knife,:wink: more modern methods make it easier though.:big_smile:

3. SHOWME

SHOWME Well-Known Member

State:
    Nixa, Mo
    Rob,there are hogs in our nat. forests down here by Springfield, around tablerock lake, they are getting real bad, the MDC killed over 300 this year and haven't scratched the surface.
    They are very hard to hunt, and the land around where they live are hills and hollers and hundreds of miles of it, so its like ya got to know someone unless the MDC can set ya on some

4. stillkickn

stillkickn New Member

State:
    Missouri
    Thank you both for the info. I will start with the slug gun b4 I event think about going after a hog with a knife! I'm not that brave. I will look into the Nat. forest.

Thanks!

5. bluejay

bluejay Well-Known Member

State:
    Napoleon, Mo.
    Just read an article in the Traveler this morning. Said the biggest pop is in the SE of the state. They are even been found in N Mo. also.

6. diodeman

diodeman New Member

State:
    Benton Co. Mo.
    Missouri has; Feral,Eurasian and Russian hogs. Consult the Mo. Dept. Conservation website for information, in search bar type in 'feral hogs'. If you have never hunted wild hogs also consult; Texasboars.com, highlight the hyperlinks 'hunting' and type of 'guns'. Be prepared.