Mississippi River Fishing Techniques

Discussion in 'IOWA RIVERS TALK' started by YoMoma, Jun 1, 2009.

1. YoMoma

YoMoma New Member

State:
    Iowa
    I live in Iowa an fish pools 16 and 17 on the Mississippi River. I am kinda new to river fishing for cat as I am mostly a panfisherman on Iowa lakes and ponds. I do have a boat to get to the hard to reach areas.
    I was wondering what are your techniques for catching channel catfish or any other for that matter in these pools?
    Mine pretty much is park myself above a wingdam and fish around that, which did alright last summer and fall, only catching catfish barely big enuf to keep. Using worms and stinkbait for bait.
    Fished the river just last weekend and only caught 1 keeper from the river fishing a wingdam.
    What other way of catching catfish should I be trying this year?
    Do I need to look for stucture near the shorelines?
    Do I need to fish below islands where currents meet and fish between them?
    Do I need to find shallow island shoreline to fish?

2. justwannano

justwannano Active Member

State:
    SE Iowa
    Hi Larry.
    Welcome to the BOC.
    I kinda like wing dams myself.
    I gotta admit though. I haven't figured it all out.
    If you can make it I suggest you try to attend the gathering at Keokuk this summer.
    Last years gathering (the first one) was pretty good even though conditions were awful because of the flooding. This year ought to be great.
    Where could you learn more about catfishing? Heck you might even get Kenny to talk about fishing LMAO.
    Hope to see you there
    have a good 1
    just

3. YoMoma

YoMoma New Member

State:
    Iowa
    Got any information on this gathering? A posting or a website? Any way to get tips is good in my book.

4. catfish kenny

catfish kenny New Member

State:
    Iowa