Mercury and Lead contamination

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by I_try, Apr 29, 2006.

1. I_try

I_try New Member

State:
    Central Arkansas
    Was just wondering how much handling of lead does it actually take to be damaged by it. How many weights or jigs have lead in them and are their any ways to avoid it?

also ive heard alot about mercury poisoning and so on. . . but have no idea why it happens or how to watch out for it. Ive just heard to not eat big fish

2. Doyle

Doyle New Member

State:
    Illinois
    I am not a Doctor or Scientis, so don't pay too much attention to me. When I was a kid I had a lot of fun playing with mercury several times ... coating dimes... floating heavy things on it. I also used non-cland lead BB's in my BB gun during this time. The way I alway loaded my gun was to put the BB's in my mouth and blow them into the gun. Later in life I did a lot of shot gun shell loading.... sometimes my hands would be black from handling shot. Now I handle sinkers and sometime pour my own. If I hadn't done all this, would I be smart and rich?:lol:

3. Coloman

Coloman New Member

State:
    Soddy Daisy, Tn
    It will not hurt you unless you get it into your blood stream. So if you don't eat it or get it into a open wound your safe.

4. JMarrs328

JMarrs328 New Member

State:
    York/Harrisburg, PA