Meramec River - Flamm city access

Discussion in 'MISSOURI RIVERS TALK' started by Tim70, Apr 3, 2008.

1. Tim70

Tim70 New Member

State:
    Maplewood, Missouri
    I am new to this board and look forward to joining some of the interesting threads on here. I have been wondering how easy it is to navigate the Meramac river down at Flamm city. I am fairly new to operating a boat. I have been mostly on lakes . I have been on the Meramec at George Winter with no problems. I have a 14 foot Jon with a 9.5 hp motor. It does pretty well at George winter. I know the river is up now but what about the typical summer months? Is it pretty shallow? Any good fishing? Is it a decent ramp? I really don't want to go out on the Mississippi. I think my rig is too small for that and I am still a rookie. I am still a little gun shy about rivers since it is a whole different game than lakes. Any input would be great.

2. Kutter

Kutter New Member

State:
    Arnold, MO
    First off, Welcome aboard, Tim. I think you'll be happy here, there are quite a few members in this area. Most of us hang out in the Gateway Cats section, listed in the Partners section of threads. You are more than welcome to join in on our fun.
    Now, Flam City during normal water levels would be a great place for your size boat/motor. I agree, the Mississippi is a bit large for it. However, quite a few members use Flam City access and I am sure they would have room to take ya out. I know a great location for getting shad for your bait, out of Flam City. Once the weather warms a bit an the rivers drop, I'd be happy to show ya.

3. catfisherman_eky3

catfisherman_eky3 New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    Welcome to the BOC from Kentucky you will love this web site

4. RIVER-RAT

RIVER-RAT New Member

State:
    MO / MT