Memories from the past, my first trip with Mellon

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by flathunter, Dec 19, 2007.

1. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    It seems like only yesterday, but actually it was about 7 long, long years ago I first met Mellon.

We met on another fishing site and he thought for some reason I was a professional catfisherman:eek:oooh:

We talked for a few weeks and he decided to drive down to my place to catch his first flathead, he even went out and bought two new st croix classic catfish rods at 320 bucks!

He also informed me he was bringing a top secrete flathead bait he found on the internet:embarassed:

When he arrived 1hr late he was anxious to show me his killer flathead bait, it was chicken breast soaked with anise oil, he refused to use the shad I had caught for him.

So we started fishing and I quickly pull in a couple nice flats, but Bryan stood behind his internet bait and refused to try my shad.

We fish for 6 more hrs, I land 4 more flatheads, Mellons still skunked and getting pissed! haha...So we decide to leave and as he was realing in he snags up, I knew it was a snag becuse I had hit this snag many times before.

But ole Mellon is sure it's a huge flathead! He fights this fish, I mean snag for 30 minutes never getting 1 inch of line back, nor did the fish I mean snag ever take any line..Finally the line breaks, and mellon is sure he lost the world record flathead.

So when he gets home he orders bigger reels, abu 10000 reels and loads them with 80-lb mono for his next chance at the monster snag on the scioto river.

2. H2O Mellon

H2O Mellon New Member

State:
    Ohio
    :confused2:

They say your memory is the 1st thing to go, when you get old. I'm affraid ole FlatLESShunter is getting old.

Sadly, the "Top Secret Flathead Bait" story is TRUE. I PAID for, yes PAID for this receipe from EBay!