Members Black Powder rifles?

Discussion in 'Guns - Blackpowder' started by jlcclh, Mar 29, 2007.

1. jlcclh

jlcclh New Member

State:
    Virginia
    I was just wondering which gun and scope combos you use?(If any scope) And powder (loose or pellets) and Bullet. My current set-up is...TC Omega Realtree Thumbhole Stock/ SS barrel. 3x9x40 Realtree Nikon scope. 150gr. Tripple 7 pellets. 245gr. Powerbelts.

2. Paraguayguy

Paraguayguy New Member

State:
    Virginia
    I shoot a Thompson Encore in 50 caliber. I use two Pyrodex pellets, (100 grain total) and 245 grain Powerbelt bullets. My scope is a Leopold Vari I in 2-7 power. It shoots better than I am able to.:wink:

3. badkarma

badkarma New Member

State:
    Oxford,Miss
    I've been hunting with blackpowder for 39 years now and I've owned a few muzzle loaders and shot a lot more but like my old CVA 45.cal round ball Kentucky rifle.Loaded with a tight patched round ball on top of 90 gr.3f black powder I have hit a squirrel in the head at 50 yds.

4. Scott Daw

Scott Daw New Member

State:
    Allentown, Pennsylvania
    I shoot a T/C Hawkins flintlock in 50 cal. PA regs wont let us use a scope in flintlock season so I shoot open sights. I use a Leupold on my 30'06 for rifle season.

5. Gator

Gator New Member

State:
    Ludowici GA
    I shoot a CVA magpro 50 with pellets 245 grain power belt and a Hawkins 50 Cal round ball and power but most of my hunting is done with the 1858 Bison special 44 cal 6 six shot revolver round ball with a 12 inch barrel.

6. gofish

gofish New Member

State:
    Greenville MS
    TC Black Diamond. 100 grains triple f pyrodex. 240 grain Mag Express XTP sabot bullet. 3x9x40 Charles Daley.

I also have a TC Hawken that I shoot the same bullet, 85 grains of same powder, open sights. Sweet shootin gun!

7. tufffish

tufffish New Member

State:
    Texas