Mark Twain Lake/ need advice

Discussion in 'MISSOURI LAKES / RESERVOIRS TALK' started by joer, Apr 9, 2009.

1. joer

joer New Member

State:
    columbiaMo
    Well don't know where to start with my fustration although I'm new at this I thought I should be on fish by now!:confused2: I've fished MT several times this year and only have a few small fish to show for my efforts. I've fished ledges, channels, flats and everywhere in between.Also use fresh shad in sides, cut, fillets and guts. Do you guys have a system to get on fish? I've used my electronics but can't seem to find a large concentration of fish. Should I start on the down wind side of the lake first then fish them deep? Just so much water out there that I think I just get overwhelmed. Any and all advice will help.

2. jlcperformance

jlcperformance New Member

State:
    moberly, missouri
    i know ive prolly told u this a couple of times but a lot of the old timers around there swear by using worms. so maybe u could give that a try. also i have always used whole shad and done fairly well but nothing to really brag about. hope we can hear some good info on hear. hoping to head down and do some camping next weekend.

3. joer

joer New Member

State:
    columbiaMo
    Let me know where you'll be stayin' and I maybe able to meet up with you!

4. catman872

catman872 Member

State:
    missouri
    what kind of catfish are you looking for? Twain is known for the flathead, many huge flatheads are taken every year in the lick creek area but mostly from trot line or limbline...i have done pretty good in the salt creek below the damn aswell

5. TheMadCatter

TheMadCatter New Member

State:
    missouri