Lower Unit Reseal Merc 200 20 HP

Discussion in 'Bubba's Outboards' started by Longjohn119, Jan 10, 2010.

1. Longjohn119

Longjohn119 Well-Known Member

State:
    Iowa
    I've never done a reseal on a lower unit before but I've done about everything else including a new reed block late last June.

I was just wondering if I need any special tools or if there is anything I should know before I dive into this next month. Currently there are no leakage problems but I'm sure it could use a reseal since it's over 30 years old (But still runs like a top )

2. Bubbakat

Bubbakat New Member

State:
    McMinnvill
    If its not leaking I wouldn't fool with it. If you just want piece of mind the post the year and I'll see if I have a picture of that lower I can post.

3. Longjohn119

State:
    Iowa
    I have a blow up of it already from the generic manual I bought.

I want to reseal it because if it does go bad before I catch it the chances of finding another one to replace it is probably about nil. I just noticed that no one has a seal kit for it anymore Mercury must have stopped selling them recently but I can still get the seals, I just have to order them individually so I imagine some of those seals won't be around in another year or two which makes me feel that doing it now would be prudent if I want to keep this motor for a few more years. After I replaced a crack reed block (No easy job since it wrapped around the crankshaft) last year this thing starts and runs so well I really hate to spend money replacing it

The lower unit is about the only thing left I haven't torn apart and repaired or cleaned up ... Since I had most of it apart to replace the reed block I completely disassembled everything from the lower unit on up and degreased, sanded out the scratches and repainted it.

4. Bubbakat

Bubbakat New Member

State:
    McMinnvill