Low idle spits and cuts off

Discussion in 'Bubba's Outboards' started by 01 Mudslinger, Apr 25, 2006.

1. 01 Mudslinger

01 Mudslinger New Member

State:
    Gretna, Va
    i just bought a 76(i think) 16' Thundercraft with a 70hp johnson outboard, motor starts easy and runs great, only problem is if you are at idle or slow forward idle the motor will spit and cut off, it will crank back up and run but if you dont give it more throttle it will spit and cut off again. gets aggravating when tryin to pull in the dock and stuff.if anybody got any ideas i would appreciate it, im new to this boat motor stuff. thanks.

2. Bubbakat

Bubbakat New Member

State:
    McMinnvill
    Hunter look at the top of the carbs and see if they have the black plastic tops on them.
    Wrong plug gap will do that to but I susspect some one has gapless plugs in it.

3. Bobpaul

Bobpaul New Member

State:
    Supply NC
    It could be as minor as a plug change.

Usually, early in the season, a poor running egine, especially at low idle, would be fuel system related. A visual check for leaks should be done.

Do you know when the last time the carbs were cleaned or adjusted?

4. kspor

kspor New Member

State:
    Wichita Kansas
    I had one do this and it was a small hole in the fuel line. Ran great under throttle, but when I cut it it died. Replaced lines and problem left. Perhaps I just got lucky.

5. 01 Mudslinger

01 Mudslinger New Member

State:
    Gretna, Va
    it was my father in laws boat and he had the carbs redone 2yrs. ago i believe, i changed to gapless plugs last weekend and it still does it. i also forgot to mention its got 1 year old gas in it right now i havnt run out completely yet, it had the additive put in to keep it from goin bad. i am gonna check it out this afternoon for leaks hopefully i can get it fixed soon. ill let you guys know what i come up with. thanks again.

6. trnsmsn

trnsmsn New Member

State:
    Missouri Originally Now I