Lots of questions...

Discussion in 'LOCAL KANSAS TALK' started by KSCats, Jun 16, 2008.

1. KSCats

KSCats New Member

State:
    Neosho Rapids, Kansas
    First of all, despite my name (which shows my lack of creativity) I'm new to KS. I moved here (Emporia) from Missouri about 1.5 years ago. I've been doing most of my fishing at Lyon State Fishing Lake north of town. It's perfect for fishing from the bank and it's close to town. I keep saying I'm going to get a boat but hasn't happened yet. :roll_eyes:

Where else can I go that's good for fishing from the bank?

John Redmond?
    Melvern?
    I've been out to both of these but it looked like it would be best in a boat. Haven't tried to fish there yet.

Neosho river?
    Cottonwood river?
    I haven't really explored these rivers yet. There is a bridge south of town on the cottonwood that some people fish from but I don't see how they'd haul a fish up from the river to the top of the bridge without losing it. They must use some heavy duty gear.

Is it illegal to float through private land on kansas rivers? From some of the posts I've read it seems that way. I don't have a boat anyway, just curious.

I haven't been to El Dorado yet, but it doesn't seem too far on the map. Are there good bank fishing spots there?

What else is close to Emporia that has good bank fishing?

BTW, after this weekend, I might have to change my name to NOCats.:beat_brick:LOL

2. KSCats

KSCats New Member

State:
    Neosho Rapids, Kansas
    Also...
    Whats the deal with the 2 pole limit in KS? I tried it for a while but ended up getting the third & wish I could use more.

Could someone explain the ideas behind CPR? I get what it is but, why? I never catch big fish anyway and release most of the small ones too.

3. catman4926

catman4926 New Member

State:
    Texas