Loose throttle

Discussion in 'Bubba's Outboards' started by playinghooky, Apr 14, 2006.

1. playinghooky

playinghooky New Member

State:
    north carolina
    when i push my throtle down to go faster than idle then i let go of it it comes back up and throtles down.please help before i get whiplash lol

2. Bobpaul

Bobpaul New Member

State:
    Supply NC
    Would you care to share just a little more information?

Make & age of the control box would be a big plus.

3. trnsmsn

trnsmsn New Member

State:
    Missouri Originally Now I
    Good Morning, I'm Not A Marine Mechanic But My Throttle control Box Has A Black Knob On The Front Side That You Twist To Make The Throttle Stiffer Or Looser, Take A Look Maybe Your's Is The Same :rolleyes: . It Will Be An Easy Fix If So.

Have A Good Day, Elliot

4. Bobpaul

Bobpaul New Member

State:
    Supply NC
    God morning Elliot. Not being a marine mechanic means nothing if you've got some good input.

I'm just trying to incourage Dan to provide just a little more information, so he can be given a complete answer pertaining to his issue.

C'mon Dan you can do it:thumbsup:

5. playinghooky

playinghooky New Member

State:
    north carolina
    sorry it took so long been working its a mer control that goes to a 76 80hp mercury outboard its original controler thanks for any help i couldnt find serial number

6. Bobpaul

Bobpaul New Member

State:
    Supply NC
    Alright Dan, that's what we needed.

Some boxes don't have any way to increase the tension on the throttle lever.

Some are obvious knobs like Elliot's.

Others have a way to adjust with a screw driver.

I'll get to the shop tomorrow and find out if yours has an adjustment, unless Bubba can help you out first.

7. Bubbakat

Bubbakat New Member

State:
    McMinnvill
    My books don't show a friction screw on those control boxes but there has to be a way to control them and I will try to help bob find it.

8. playinghooky

playinghooky New Member

State: