Look'n for some channel catfish

Discussion in 'SOUTH CAROLINA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by iceman, Jul 20, 2009.

1. iceman

iceman New Member

State:
    Walterboro S.C
    Well, I have been catfishing Santee lakes for a few years now and been doing pretty good with the blues and even a couple of flatheads. there has been a few channels in the mix. I would like to be able to anchor out and catch a bunch of them eater size channels! So, here i am asking for opinions on baits and when to use them, where to find them(structure, bottom, depth, HONEY HOLES. LOL ). what about stink baits. i'm not asking for everyones secrets just thought there was so much knowledge on this site that i could get a headstart on them. all info will be appreciated.

GARY

2. larry d. grady

larry d. grady New Member

State:
    north caro
    try small marshmellows dipped in dip bait,it works great on monticello @wylie,and waterree.

3. blackwaterkatz

blackwaterkatz Active Member

State:
    Andrews, SC
    Gary, it seems there are larger than normal numbers of channels being caught this year almost anywhere on Moultrie. I know I've caught more channels than any previous year. I use primarily fresh cut bait, and nightcrawlers, but a lot are being caught on stinkbaits, too. You may have to move around a little to find them, but if you anchor on top of underwater humps and fan out your baits, you should locate some without too much effort. Where you catch one, there will be more. Sorry I can't be more specific; haven't been in a month or so, and they move around. :big_smile:

4. snakeman76

snakeman76 New Member

State:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    If you want to count floridas vote I have cought my belly full on nightcrawlers and raw shrimp this year:eek:oooh:

5. Sunbird

Sunbird New Member

State:
    Sandy Run,
    Gary, We got into a bunch of them out in front of Atkin's landing. Almost at the mouth on the Pinopolis point. Maybe they are still there? :wink:Good luck!!

6. jim