Looking for some feedback on Abu Garcia fishing reels?

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by jerseycat9, Oct 5, 2007.

1. jerseycat9

jerseycat9 New Member

State:
    Oakwood Georgia
    Ive been using Abu baitcasters since I was around 10 years old and have had this problem over and over actually two problems.

First problem is on the levelwind Abus every season I have a problem with the worm gear on the levelwinds. It seems the amount of use I put these reels through the fork that rides the worm gear on the levelwind guide gets worn down and begins to stick to one side of the reel on retrieve and builds line up to one side. I have a quick fix for it that gets me more time before replacing the fork by cutting one or two small spacers from paper and placing them in the cap that keeps that little fork in place. I was wondering if anyone else has this problem continually like I do? I have been using penns for the past 4 years along with my Abus and have never had this problem.

Second problem I have is the danged bait clickers. I dont use them as much anymore beins how I dont fish for Pike as much as I used to and switched to circle hooks for catfishing; but I used to wear out my baitclickers every season like clock work. I know that the problem is the plastic clicker but geeze ya think they would just go and make a metal replacement like the penns have. I have a back pack that is just loaded with Abus waiting for me to take the time for me to revive them back to life but I have gotten annoyed with the reels. I will admit that Abu has one of the best repair policies in the business but I do my own reel repairs and it saves me time and money for shipping.

Any input on these problems would be cool I just want to make sure it is not only myself who is loosing his passion for this brand

2. catfishjohn

catfishjohn New Member

State:
    Greenup Co. KY