Longmont catfish

Discussion in 'LOCAL COLORADO TALK' started by catmando, Feb 25, 2006.

1. catmando

catmando New Member

State:
    Colorado
    I'm new to Longmont Colorado I just moved up here from Texas last summer. I fished all last summer at union reservoir. I didn’t catch anything but 2 carp. I have a boat so I do get out on the lake. I'm looking for a new place to fish? If anyone knows of any places I could try my little brother and I would love it. I don’t know much about the other lakes around and I feel we are wasting our time at union. Any help would be great
    Thanks Dane
    :confused:

2. coloradowhiskerchaser

coloradowhiskerchaser New Member

State:
    colorado
    Hi and welcome to the hard catfishing state!

I live about 20 minutes south of Longmont and i have fished for cats my entire life. I will be more than happy to help a fellow cat angler to some sweet spots. Are you looking for channels to eat or ones to catch and release? Catfishing here isn't as good as texas but we have a few real choice areas. I fish union a lot but only for wipers. Most good cat lakes near us don't even call for a boat, nice little lakes to hit after work.
    For starters there are a chain of ponds in longmont called st vrain ponds. I havent fished them but have heard there is a decent channel cat population.

Good luck and stay in touch,
    Brett

3. catmando

catmando New Member

State:
    Colorado
    hey thanks for writting back... yeah I'm just looking to catch them and put them back to get bigger and better. They sell darn good cat at the store if thats what i'm feelin. well if you can tell me a few places to go that would be great..

Thanks again Dane, nice to meet you brett

4. lawnman61

lawnman61 New Member

State:
    Fort Worth, Tex