Lock/Dam 24 Fishing Report - May 12

Discussion in 'ILLINOIS RIVERS TALK' started by cpalombo, May 13, 2007.

1. cpalombo

cpalombo New Member

State:
    Nashville TN
    I put this same report on the Mo Rivers site, but thought I would also share it with ya'll in IL. Enjoy....

BAIT PHASE - I started out at noon and stopped along the way to see if I could catch some blue gills in the ditches on the way. That was a miserable and muddy failure. Always a nice thing to cover your shoes in dirt before you step into your clean boat. More on that in a bit… Anyhow, I launched the boat at 1:00 and headed below the Lock to find skipjack and/or shad. I have never tried to catch these before, but I read a lot on the BOC about it and felt ready to try.

I learned two things about bait fishing yesterday: 1) Shad CAN be caught by persons with deficient hand/net/eye coordination, and 2) Chris Palombo CAN'T throw a net to save his life. So, I out in 1 hour, but did OK. I now have a big bag of hard won shad in the freezer, and a deep sense of insecurity at knowing that my arms flail helplessly when handling a cast net. If I were born an Amazon pigmy, I would surely have starved to death.

EXPERIMENTAL PHASE – (Warning, I know what I am about to say will turn off a few people, but I assure you that I release my fish, really.) Anyhow, I wanted to try out using a trot line. These were illegal in Michigan, so I though... "Heck, it looks like it is a safe and guaranteed way to have fun." I was incorrect. I now see that my two hour stint with trot lining is the singe most risky event I have voluntarily participated in. 50 feet of strong line, chemically sharpened hooks, wild current, and one lone fool in a boat equals two hours of indiscriminate danger. Oh, I failed to mention that 1 hour of this madness was in the dark. Long and short is that I have three nice trot lines that I will never use again. Perhaps I will put a 150 foot shower in my basement and use them as the curtain holder.