Location, Location, Location

Discussion in 'Carp Fishing' started by skeetermagnet, Nov 16, 2006.

1. skeetermagnet

skeetermagnet New Member

State:
    Edmond, Oklahoma
    Let me start off by saying that I'm pretty new to carp fishing. I have caught quite a few, but never any on purpose. I'm looking to change that.

There seems to be quite a bit of information about baits. Actually, an enourmous amount of information about baits. That isn't necessarily a bad thing. I'm keeping track of it all. (Although I do think my wife is tired of hearing about boilies on hair rigs) But my sticking point so far has been not what to fish with, but where to fish.

So here is my question......and please, more is definitely better when it comes to this kind of information....where in the lake do you look for carp? There has to be some spots that are better than others. I'm sure it matters for the time of year, too. Let's start a location tutorial here for us newbies so we can put some tonnage on the hook-end of the rod.

2. laidbck111

laidbck111 New Member

I have tried what I have been told and that is look for slow to still waters in a quite part of the lake that has some algea growth. While this is not true on all lakes it is a basic suggestion and a starting point. I am sure some of the Oklahoma guys will help you more as they find the post.

3. zappaf19

zappaf19 New Member

State:
    Monticello,IN
    We use to carp fish in front of the dam gates. The bait we used was the moss off the gates. We would just put a hunk of moss on and hook and throw it in. You had to be quick because the carp would grab it suck the algie out of it then spit it out. It was a blast.
    Bill

4. CatHound

CatHound New Member

State:
    Missouri
    Carp are actually omnivorous - they eat both plant matter and animal (mostly insects, crustations and worms). So, they tend to hang out where those food items are to be found. That being the shallows.