Locating catfish

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by ERIC S, Apr 16, 2009.

1. ERIC S

ERIC S New Member

State:
    Baton Rouge LA
    What are somethings to look for when fishing a new body of water to locate catfish? Need advice , I am new to catfishing

2. catfishjohn

catfishjohn New Member

State:
    Greenup Co. KY
    I'd start off looking for structure such as trees, stumps boulders/rocks. I also like to find where a shallow flat drops off to deeper water. Also find bait fish and the cats should be close.
    *Note* Don't listen to me, wait for others to chime in. I'm yet to get my first cat of the year...:smile2: I think I've been fishing good spots, weather has been too unstable so far this year.:eek:oooh: At least thats my story and I'm sticking to it...:eek:oooh::smile2:

3. tnvol

tnvol New Member

State:
    Clarksvill
    Structure. Like the above post says. Stumps, trees, ledges, rock, boulders, droppoffs, brush piles, points etc.. All types of cover that will attract baitfish. Like catfishjohn said, find the baitfish and you will most likely find catfish.

4. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    I agree with all the above post and would add. Follow the birds. The birds follow the bait fish and the cats follow the bait fish also.

5. tufffish

tufffish New Member

State:
    Texas
    this time of year find a wind blown bank or point with birds in the edge of the water feeding. when there is no wind you need to find structure. don't hesitate to keep moving until you find fish.

6. jolie

jolie New Member

State:
    PA
    I disagree and say, definitely listen to him.:smile2:

my favorite spot in rivers are current seams and eddys; espacially over the 'structure' john mentions.

we can be more specific if you tell us where you're fishing rivers/lake/etc and what kind of cats your targeting; flathead/blue/channel/bullhead.

7. ERIC S

ERIC S New Member

State:
    Baton Rouge LA