Locating Blue Catfish - Marking Current Breaks

Discussion in 'MISSOURI LAKES / RESERVOIRS TALK' started by Bigmagic, May 1, 2006.

1. Bigmagic

Bigmagic New Member

State:
    Edwards Missouri
    I studied my hotspots LOZ map Saturday night and went out Sunday to mark some spots and see if they held fish. I located an old roadbed and some places that I believe are fish travel lanes. I am trying to spend at least one day a week on the water but not fishing. I did have some problems. I was using GPS data from the hotspots maps and it was difficult to get exactly on the co-ordinates that were on the map. It wasn't a big deal since the bottom did have the ditches that gave away the roadbed but I need to get better at using GPS co-ordinates.

I also noticed that most of the large fish Blues I think were on the bottom behind rocks or stumps. The water was rising but there was no current except a strong wind. I found a few large Blues mixed in with a bunch of small ones trailing shad. To answer the question of "how did you know they were Blues" I can only say the area is one I've fished a lot. There seemed to be hundreds of small Blues in the area with an occasional large one in the mix. All of these fish were on the bottom. This would explain why my recent catches haven't been quite what I'm used to. I intend to run over the same areas today and see what a little current will do to these fish.

I am starting this thread to help all of us learn from each other and get better at locating large trophy Blues. I will try to spend at least one day a week searching for new spots and I will post my results here. I would like everyone who may be locating new spots to do the same. Locating fish is probably the most difficult part of the equation when going after trophy fish.

Jeff Williams has a sig that says it all "The harder I work the luckier I get"

2. Mr.T

Mr.T Active Member

State:
    MO