Live Bait Usage

Discussion in 'Catfishing Baits' started by The Catfish Stalker, Apr 29, 2008.

1. The Catfish Stalker

The Catfish Stalker New Member

State:
    Illinois
    I'm new to the usage of live bait. In the past I've used mostly chicken liver and glow worms (radioactive nightcrawlers), which have been successful for the 1-3 lb. range.
    I've been reading up on catfish lately, mostly through here and a few other sites (don't remember what they were, though) and have come to the conclusion that what I have been using doesn't work as well for bigger fish. So, I have a few questions that I would really appreciate having answered.

1. What's better, live or cut shad?

2. Are bluegill worth using? And does anyone know if they are considered gamefish in Illinois?

3. What is slipjack?

4. Is there any specific live baits that are better for types of catfish? IE cut shad for blue or slipjack for flathead, etc.?

5. Are minnows even worth the time and effort?

Thank you very much!

2. whisker maniac

whisker maniac New Member

State:
    arkansas
    I thing that the consensus is live bait is best. Shad and Skipjack are usually good for blues but flats like them too

Blue gills are good for flats.

Skipjack is a freshwater herring. In some places around some just call them skips and some just call them jack fish and in other parts of the states they are called other things. Ask around from some of your local fishing buddies and they will tell ya what they are around your area. If you have skips in the rivers around you you can catch them on rod and reel using a sabaki rig or catch them with white jigs.

Shad can be caught if you can find them schooling, with a cast net.

Good Luck.

3. The Catfish Stalker

State:
    Illinois
    Thanks for the info. I need to go out and buy a fish net for shad, but I haven't got around to it yet. I need it to warm up around here before I can get shad. It's around 50 degrees here now and it's windy.

4. SubnetZero