Line info for beginner

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by keithbc, May 18, 2009.

1. keithbc

keithbc New Member

State:
    Alabama
    Thanks to some info on this site I bought a ugly stik combo that's medium heavy. The rod says it will support 15-30 test line. After talking to somebody locally they said I should go with braided like 80# braided... I'm confused now and don't know what to do. I'm doing mainly shore fishing and looking to catch everything from small channel cats to big blues and flatheads. Keep in mind I'm new to fishing so I don't want to get something that's would be to tough for me to handle.

1. Should I go with braided or Mono
    2. What pound test should it be?
    3. Also if I go with braided what do I do to avoid the digging in problems I've read about? Also how would I spool it?
    Thanks alot everybody

2. USCA-RECLAIMED-ACCOUNT

USCA-RECLAIMED-ACCOUNT New Member

1.braided it easier to cast & you can fit a lot more of it on your reel.80#braid =same diameter as 17# mono.2.65 or 80# braid should fill all your requirements.3.I very seldom have problems with dig in,for me the trick is to get it wound on the spool as TIGHT as you possibly can. GOOD LUCK AND GOOD FISHING.:big_smile:

3. buddyodie

buddyodie New Member

State:
    illinois
    Keith, I think either one would be fine as long as you buy good line and not the dollar a spool crap that wally world and some other places sell.