line color?

Discussion in 'Fishing Line Review' started by lendog, Sep 25, 2008.

1. lendog

lendog New Member

State:
    berks, PA
    does anyone think that line color matters for big catties? i use the low vis. green in braid and was gonna switch to the tracer yellow for nite visability, the other day when my buddy and i went fishin i caught 3 fish and he caught none and his line was only feet away from mine, he uses the big cat green line and i thought mabe it was his line( this was durring the day we went), does line color make a difference?

2. Mac-b

Mac-b Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

State:
    North Caro
    Name:
    Mac

Lenny, I'm no expert by no means on line color. I have used red, yellow, coffee color, clear, blue, green, yellow and a combinations of other colors. Catfish are not known for their eye sight, they go by scent and then they touch and if they like the scent and the touch of the bait, they will take it. I would go with what suits your eye sight, such as can I see it at night or during the daytime.

I like you, have seen my yellow line or any other color get bites when my partners green line did not get a bite. Could be that your bait and how you put it on had a different action or scent than your bud's or it could have been something as simple as his lines or line was/were three or four feet away from the cats and your bait went right by their scent field or you laid it down right in front of the cat.

3. whisker maniac

whisker maniac New Member

State:
    arkansas
    I don't feel that line color makes a difference. I have trotlined most of my life and we used white nylon chord and it never seemed to bother the fish so I would definately say that it doesn't.

You probably just held your mouth right the day you caught the fish and your buddy didn't :eek:oooh::smile2:

4. Blade4130

Blade4130 Well-Known Member

State:
    Independence MO