Limlines or Trotline Help/ Ideas

Discussion in 'Alternative Methods of Catching Catfish' started by iluvnevaeh, Apr 4, 2009.

1. iluvnevaeh

iluvnevaeh New Member

State:
    Nebraska
    I just moved down the road from a small river and have been thinking about setting out some trotlines, limblines, set lines or whatever , overnight and i have no experience with this at all. If there is anyone out there that could get me started and point me in the right direction i would appreciate it!

2. ks-limb-liner

ks-limb-liner New Member

State:
    Wichita, Kansas
    1st off, Welcome to the BOC,
    Got a few questions for you, that'll help you decide. 1st is how much current will you be dealing with? any idea as to the depth?
    the trouble with trotlines in a river is they will also catch all the debris being washed down that river, the current matter as to the size of weights you'll want to use to keep your baits down, and the depth determines if you have the option of wading it to run your lines or will you need a boat. For myself I'll always go with Limb Lines, that way you pick the best places to drop big baits. But when doing so, make sure you have green tree limbs to tie to, because it doesn't take a big cat long to get off if he's got something solid to pull against.

3. iluvnevaeh

iluvnevaeh New Member

State:
    Nebraska
    i would be fishing the little nemaha so the current is not really too fast and it doesnt seem to be that deep, im assuming i could wade out across it. i know that its sandy and not deep to begin with, i can see the bottom. and it only seems to be about 50' across at the most where im located.

4. kyredneck

kyredneck New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    Is this river known for flatheads or channels or suckers or trout or what? Got any intel?

5. jtrew

jtrew New Member

State:
    Little Rock, AR