Limb Lines???

Discussion in 'LOCAL KANSAS TALK' started by dcoynut, Dec 2, 2007.

1. dcoynut

dcoynut New Member

State:
    Kansas
    As I said before I am new to catfishing and I wanted to try out some limb lines for Flatheads.....When is the best time of year to try these I have never done before so any info would be helpful????

2. Flatheadhunter33

Flatheadhunter33 New Member

State:
    Yuma, Arizona
    I've only experimented with them. Heck, Im not even sure if I do them right...I dont know how long most folks leave them out but I only put them out in different locations while Im fishing certain spots. Once we put one out with 50lb test line and when we came back it was broken and there was also rub marks in bark on the limb we had it on. I dont know what it was but it had to be pretty big and strong. We bait them with either live or chunks of bait.

3. warcraft1975

warcraft1975 New Member

you will get alot of differnt opions on this. but i like the water to kinda hot so late june july and most of augest are going to be my best flathead months for limb lines or rod and reel.where will you be running lines?(lake vs. river)lines are fun stuff to me. gives me a chance to run huge baits and let them soak.

4. dcoynut

dcoynut New Member

State:
    Kansas
    warcraft I will be setting them in River situations........

5. john catfish young

john catfish young New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    We use to run are limb lines from spring to fall. We would use green trotline material with a #5 j hook. Live bluegils. Many large flatheads.

6. BLKCLOUD

BLKCLOUD New Member

State:
    Pulaski Tn