The United States Catfish Association Forum and Community banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
350 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Left hand right hand. I started out very young with a Mitchell 300 half bail reel. it was a left hand reel. Didn't know that then in fact never though about it till just a couple years ago. Used spinning reels only for maybe 30 yrs, or not quite, then around 1967 got a Zebco direct drive reel. Have no idea anymore how long it took me to be able to fish with that thing, still have it today! But it was a right hand reel, never really understood that but back then I think all bait casting reels were right hand. I graduated from that to ABU's and since a lot of different brands. One thing in common in everyone of them was they were all right hand Didn't bother me much at all, just learned to switch hands after casting. Then a short while back I found an ABU 6501 in an old building. Cleaned it up and worked great. Took it out and tried fishing with it, what a chore! Just didn't feel good at all trying to reel a level wind with my left hand and holding the rod with the right! Good reel but haven't used it since, just to weird feeling and I have maybe 12 other level winds and every one of them right hand! I'm not sure I could use a right hand spinning reel either! Learning there was a difference like that in fishing reels was a crushing blow to me! Before that I never though about it!

·
Registered
1,837 Posts
My brother-in-law was left handed and used a right handed baitcaster or spincast reel. He could fish circles around me. I'm right handed and used a right handed reel. Not may left handed reels around back then except for spinning reels. If you did find a baitcaster or spincast reel you paid a little more for it. I tried the Shakespeare Wondercast left handled model, it was garbage.