Left eye dominant

Discussion in 'Bowhunting' started by dannybcc, Dec 30, 2006.

1. dannybcc

dannybcc New Member

State:
    Sioux City, Iowa
    Willie
    Was wondering how your left hand shooting was going. I am also left eye dominant and shooting right handed and trying to shoot instinctivley. Does make it awkward. I tried closing my left eye while shooting but that feels just as awkward. It also seems to effect my depth perception. I shoot a gun right handed with left eye closed and never had a problem.
    As I am just learning the stik bows this might be the time to switch. Our bow shop has a couple used left hand recurves on the wall. I plan to try it out. Could you feel me in on how you are coming and if you plan to stick with left handed shooting. What weight are you starting out with also?
    If you dont mind I will use you for a Ginney Pig so your opinion is important to me.
    Tight Lines
    Danny

2. flathead willie

flathead willie Well-Known Member

State:
    Virginia
    Hey Danny,
    My left handed shooting is coming along real well. I try to shoot at least 100 arrows a day. I think my brain is finally figuring out what I'm trying to do. At first my shots were all over the place and every once in awhile I'd actually hit my 24X24 inch target! I went back to basics and started back at 10 yards, shoot 10 arrows, move back to 15 yards and shoot another 10 shots, then back to 20 and shoot another 10, and then repeat the whole process. I've gotten my 5 shot groups down to 5-6 inches at 20 yards with some as small as 3 inches. Yesterday I shot the nocks off two arrows and the feather off another one. Like you said, you lose depth perception with one eye closed so I shoot with both open. When I close my right eye my windage is good but my elevation is thrown off.