learning to locate flatties w/ depth-finder

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by Riverwalker, Feb 18, 2009.

1. Riverwalker

Riverwalker New Member

State:
    Missouri
    hey guys, i got a x-96 lowrance for christmas and i just bought me a jon boat today. im ready to hit the grand river!! i thought id see if anybody had some good advice as to what to look for on my sonar or settings to tweak on. ive never used a depth-finder before and i really want to take advantage of it. any advice on some key things to look for would be great! i definetly want to have some good spots picked out before spring hits. im new to the BOC i figured i could find out all the info i need here. thanks

2. Snagged2

Snagged2 New Member

State:
    Verde Valley AZ
    Hey Chris, I just got the same unit, have had it out a couple of times, and I think I need to get it out some more...!!!

I don't have a clue how to "read" it,, So, maybe, we'll both get some good data here...

I bought it, just to have an idea of depth in the Colorado river where I fish, and would like to use more of it's capabilities.. but,, it's going to have a learning curve , for me anyway..

3. Riverwalker

Riverwalker New Member

State:
    Missouri
    LOL ya i hear ya snagged2 i cant read the thing either. i bought mine for the same reason here on the grand. i hope i can learn how to use everything on it but i think it would be easier if somebody just showed me how :smile2: lol

4. katfish ken

katfish ken New Member

State:
    Paintsvill
    I bought a Himminbird LCR400 some years ago and the owner/operaters manual proved Priceless with it. I showed how to put it in Demo mode to let ya learn of all the functions on it.
    I'm wanting to upgrade to a newer version of Humminbird that shows the fish with individual depths though. The LCR400 was top of the line 25 yrs. ago I've used it on 3different boats so I have got my moneys worth out of it . It still works fine. Hope This Helps.

5. JAinSC