Leader Length and Strength

Discussion in 'Blue Catfishing' started by flying_v_64, Dec 7, 2008.

1. flying_v_64

flying_v_64 New Member

State:
    NC
    I'm relatively new to fishing for the blue monsters. I've been reading in the BOC about using leaders. I've never used leaders in my life. Usually I just tie my hook directly to the end of the line. I use a heavy barrel type slip sinker with a split shot to keep it from slipping to the hook which usually doesn't work too well. I'm primarely a bank fisherman.
    My questions are:
    1. Why are leaders used?
    2. What length should the leader be?
    3. What type and strength of leader material should be used?
    Thanks Brothers!:wink:

2. cathog

cathog New Member

State:
    Lone Oak Texas
    Leaders are used to add strength to the stress points of the line(Where the fish are). I like to use a 50 pound or bigger leader. Any good mono makes a good leader. I tried the braids for leaders and they really dont make good leader material. Another good leader material is flourocarbon, but it is very expensive. My leaders are from 18 to 36 inches long. Around here I use a 25 pound mono main line with a #5 swivel, then a 50 pound leader. Above the swivel I use a 2 oz slinky weight, below the swivel, about 5 inches from a 8/0 octopus circle hook is a 2 1/2 inch cigar float. This is the rig I use 99% of the time while drifting.

3. BIG GEORGE

BIG GEORGE New Member

State:
    JOISY
    Have ya ever had your hand a big cats mouth? That is one of the primary reasons for a good strong leader material. Abrasion causes weakness that costs ya fish. Live bait I use a shorter leader. Less drama with line tangle. Especially with eels. Cut bait I use about an 18 to 24 inch leader.

4. Flamekeeper

Flamekeeper New Member

State:
    Louisville, Ken
    What they said..LOL.:wink:

5. olddriller

olddriller New Member

State:
    Missouri