Lake Patagonia flathead catfish

Discussion in 'ARIZONA LAKES / RESERVOIRS TALK' started by Apache Flats, Nov 18, 2007.

1. Apache Flats

Apache Flats New Member

State:
    Tucson, Az
    Hi all this is my first thread. Does anyone know if flatheads are still biting at
    Patty? Also do you know what spots to fish? I would be fishing from a small
    boat after thanksgiving day. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks

2. aburk

aburk New Member

State:
    Tucson, AZ
    I heard there is some nice flatheads in patagonia, you should try pena blanca for some huge channels

3. Pappy B

Pappy B Guest

YOU'RE GONNA NEED A BIGGER BOAT.:crazy:

4. SPJ

SPJ New Member

State:
    Arizona
    Hey Patagonia Flathead fishers, I would like to update this post since I am new to AZ flathead fishing and will primarily be shore fishing (hopefully I can convince the wife to let me buy a boat).

My efforts have been isolated to the picnic areas. Is this a reasonable location to get flats from or should I try the beach area near the north parking lot?

My first night I was using the northerly picnic spot and casting hard straight north into, according to the topographic map, the deep channel. While doing this, I noted no bait fish action and after reeling in, they were dead. Could this be due to the extreme depth or dragging the bait submerged weeds?