Lake Monticello Monster !!!

Discussion in 'SOUTH CAROLINA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by bigcatman0001, Jun 24, 2008.

1. bigcatman0001

bigcatman0001 New Member

State:
    south carolina
    Went out on Monty for the first time and did ok. The biggest fish we managed was a brim but it weighed 2 pounds 4 ounces my new pb. We did catch 8 small 1 to 2 pound blues but the wind was blowing so hard we had to hide behind the islands to fish. That is one beatiful lake i will definitly be back. Also does anyone know which kind of brim this is. I am no expert on the panfish.

Attached Files:

• brim.jpg
      brim.jpg
      File size:
      35.3 KB
      Views:
  2. rob128146

rob128146 New Member

State:
    Rockwell, North Carolina
    Holy S$%* I have never seen a bream that big. Having him mounted?:big_smile: I'm noe expert on panfish either but we had some in our pond my dad put in there that went from 1lb to 2lb that were called Black Australian Bream??

3. pop pop

pop pop New Member

State:
    Lake Green
    Great catch brad! I'm no expert on bream, but that looks like a male bluegill. The males turn black and dark like that if they are in a spawning mode. I'm sure someone can shed more light on it. As this is just my opinion.:wink:

Thanks for the report

4. ratkinson

ratkinson New Member

State:
    NY
    I've only seen em' that size from one body water, and, I'm sworn to secrecy on that spot. Great fish, that may be the trophy of a lifetime, relatively speeking. I'm not sure what type it is, but, that is one of the more impressive panfish I have ever seen.

Richard

5. bigcatman0001

bigcatman0001 New Member

State:
    south carolina
    Yeah I think Ill get it mounted, but the paque will have to say "bait" It was hard not to try and catch a big cat with it.:eek:oooh:

6. River_monster91

River_monster91 New Member

State:
    central kansas
    thats a big bait!!! imigine the flathead you could catch on that sucker lol

7. MSgtCatfish