Lake Marion Catfishing

Discussion in 'SOUTH CAROLINA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by Captain Cat, Jan 21, 2006.

1. Captain Cat

Captain Cat Member

State:
    New York
    I will be coming down to fish lake Marion in April. It is my first time, I am going with a friend that has fished there before and knows the water a little. I am trying to plan for the trip. Here where I fish we get blues and channel cats from small to about 20-25 lbs being the biggest. What can I expect there? What size hooks are best? What Lb. Test line? Mono or spiderwire, what is best for the conditions. Any help would be great. We are staying at Billups Landing. thanks For any help. Great site by the way.

2. flathead22

flathead22 New Member

State:
    south carolina
    hey, man...good to have you onboard. i can't remember where billups is but i think it is in the upper upper lake marion. you should do okay if you get into the stumphole area...verry shallow!!! if you don't have a depthfinder, do not go in there!!!!!!!! i wouldn't even go with a semi v hull boat. if you don't mind me giving you a recommendation, the old santee river out of arrowhead landing is excellent this time of year as well as the rediversion canal (also out of arrowhead). you need pretty heavy lines for marion or the river cause it is messy underwater (thousands of stumps, etc) i like mono because of the stretch but braided line is good if you want to go for a big cat. carolina rig is my fav presentation. good luck!

3. THE CATKING

THE CATKING New Member

State:
    Cattinatti