Lake lanier

Discussion in 'GEORGIA LAKES / RESERVOIRS TALK' started by rooster1, Jun 2, 2008.

1. rooster1

rooster1 New Member

State:
    ga banks county
    im new at fishing. i bought a used 16 ft v hull and made a fishing boat out of it .my dad and uncle go with me every other sat to lanier and put in at clarks bridge its close to me.we use livers and dead herring and we usually catch 10 or so cats the biggest was 12 lbs. we usually go up in coves and fish. sat we didnt do very well fish wernt biting, just wondering were a honey hole is around clarks bridge and any good bait ideas . my boats kinda slow so we usually go around the 129 bridge and back up the river a little

2. chambers bd

chambers bd New Member

State:
    Sautee,Geo
    Well kind Sir, you seem to be well on you way to mastering the fine art of catfishing. When you leave the boat ramp go across the channel fish the coves all the way southward, fish north ward around the rocks. Try the big cove past the jumping rock northward.

Go south under bridge to 129 keep going look to the left you see a small island.fish around it, if you get close to the water in let station you gone to far!

Bluebacks are my favorite!

I hope it helps you, let me know and ill find some more!

Also try fishing early morning or at dusk!
    Good luck
    Brian
    :big_smile:

3. rooster1

rooster1 New Member

State:
    ga banks county
    i have fished in the cove behind the island but never around it we went sat night all night and only caught 3 they wernt biting at all i even tried under the 129 bridge in 60 ft of water where is the jumping rock

4. chambers bd

chambers bd New Member

State:
    Sautee,Geo
    When you leave the dock go northward, up the Chatt, River toward Lula Bridge. You will see a gaint rock where folks use a couple of ropes to jump in the water. The water is around 20 to 30 feet deep.