Lake Lanier catfishing

Discussion in 'LOCAL GEORGIA TALK' started by Gazippoman, Apr 26, 2009.

1. Gazippoman

Gazippoman New Member

State:
    GA
    I'm a newbie here on the catfishing forums. I moved down here from Louisville, KY about 9 years ago. Used to do ALOT of catfishing, but haven't found many good catfishing holes near me. I've caught quite a few cat's while striper fishing, but haven't figured out how to target BIG cats on Lanier. Any suggestions? I have a boat, so anywhere on Lanier would be accessable.

I've made the drive to the Coosa river and Lake Weiss on occassion with varied success, but would really prefer to stay closer to home.

Thanks
    Bill

2. Jighead07

Jighead07 New Member

State:
    Georgia
    A 7-8 lb channel on Lanier is abig cat, my PB is around 13 lbs. Fish shallow in the backs of the creeks at night this time of year, with cut shad or pennywinkles. There are some big flatheads that have been caught in the last couple of years, I haven't tried to target them yet.

3. chambers bd

chambers bd New Member

State:
    Sautee,Geo
    I fish all over the south and love to fish lanier, lots of good places. I be glad to give some intel. I think its still a little early yet!

Brian

4. Gazippoman

Gazippoman New Member

State:
    GA
    I was thinking about fishing the hump right in front of the narrows for cats. Last fall I was striper fishing and got into a big school of cats. Caught 25 in just over an hour.

Of course, I'd be glad to get some intel on Lanier catfishing. Most people tell me I should head all the way up the lake...above Gainesville.

Thanks
    Bill

5. Jighead07

Jighead07 New Member

State:
    Georgia
    My biggest channels have come from the major creeks feeding the Chestatee side of the lake on up the lake this time of year. Don't be scared to float a bait about 2 ft deep right before dark and after dark this time of year.

6. Gazippoman

Gazippoman New Member

State:
    GA